Astronautalis new album Cut The Body Loose out May 13!

It’s been five long years since Astronautalis has released a new full-length. Brilliantly produced by John Congleton (St. Vincent, Modest Mouse, Bill Callahan), Astronautalis’ highly-anticipated fifth LP Cut The Body Loose will be released on May 13.

Physical pre-orders for the album are available now:

A trailer for the first new single “Running Away From God” can be viewed on our Facebook page: The song is available exclusively through iTunes with all pre-orders of Cut The Body Loose.

1. Kurt Cobain
2. 1515 Washington
3. Running Away From God
4. Kudzu
5. Guard The Flame
6. In The Tall Grass
7. Attila Ambrus
8. Cut The Body Loose
9. Sike!
10. Boiled Peanuts (feat. Lizzo)

While Cut The Body Loose may seem like Astronautalis’ most aggressive album to date, to call it angry or pessimistic would be to miss the point. Named for an aspect of a traditional New Orleans jazz funeral when the music guides grievers from heavy, insurmountable suffering to a full-on raucous celebration in the streets, Cut The Body Loose is the sonic equivalent of that same liberating process.

In his own words throughout this record, Astronautalis explains that “the world is fucked in a lot of ways,” but that we can’t let that defeat us and halt our progress towards the good. “You can use those circumstances to make a small change. I’m not talking about recycling– I’m talking about finding happiness inside the framework of what can easily be a crushing amount of sadness you see in the world around you.”

Leave a Reply